Cricket World Cup 2019: Can South Africa finally break their CWC jinx?

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

England and Wales

30 May – 14 July

South Africa will be looking to finally break their Cricket World Cup jinx when the 2019 edition is held in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July.

SA have reached four World Cup semifinals (1992, 1999, 2007 and 2015) but been denied in all of them, including the last edition four years ago when they lost a cliffhanger to co-hosts New Zealand in Auckland.

South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada.

The pain of that defeat still lingers for the Proteas, who have several members of the 2015 team in their current squad: captain Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Dale Steyn and Imran Tahir.

You might also like: Cricket World Cup 2019: All you need to know about the Proteas

However, it is the new blood which could prove key in South Africa’s hopes of finally ascending to the top table of ODI cricket: Aiden Markram and Rassie van der Dussen will be hoping to feature strongly in the batting line-up, while bowlers Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi and Tabraiz Shamsi bring fire and skill to the bowling attack.

South Africa coach Ottis Gibson.

In addition, the Proteas are now led by one of the canniest coaches in the international game, former West Indies international Ottis Gibson, who will look to mastermind a strong showing in England – a country where has vast playing and coaching experience.

South Africa will take on England in the 2019 CWC opening match at the Oval in London on Thursday 30 May.

Join Betway today & place your Cricket World Cup Bet with up to R1,000 in Extra Bets 

Bet on the Cricket World Cup 2019 with Betway

Cricket World Cup Statistics

First held: 1975

Previous tournaments: 11

Most titles: Australia, 5

Most runs, player: Sachin Tendulkar (India), 2278

Most wickets, player: Glenn McGrath (Australia), 71

Cricket World Cup previous winners

1975 – West Indies

1979 – West Indies

1983 – India

1987 – Australia

1992 – Pakistan

1996 – Sri Lanka

1999 – Australia

2003 – Australia

2007 – Australia

2011 – India

2015 – Australia 

Bet on local and international cricket

When you register an account with Betway, you get access to all cricket action across the globe with a various selections of Bet Types allowing you to back favourite countries and teams from the onset. So get in on the game and place your cricket bet now. 

Bet on the Cricket World Cup 2019 with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. Download the Betway App

Published: 05/29/2019