2021 Sony Open in Hawaii takes centre stage

Image copyright: Getty Images

2021 Sony Open in Hawaii 

US PGA Tour 

Waialae Country Club
Honolulu, Hawaii
14-17  January 2021  
The 2021 Sony Open will take place at the Waialae Country Club in Honolulu, Hawaii between 14 and 17 January. 
This golf tournament is on the PGA Tour and it is part of the tour's FedEx Cup Series.
It has been contested at the Waialae Country Club in Honolulu, Hawaii, since the event's modern-day inception as the Hawaiian Open in November 1965.
In addition to the usual PGA Tour eligibility criteria, the Sony Open may invite up to three professional golfers from emerging markets.

Australian player Cameron Smith is the defending champion having won the Sony Open in Hawaii last year. 
Smith won the Sony Open in Hawaii in a playoff over Brendan Steele; his first individual victory on the PGA Tour.
The 27-year-old will be hoping to defend his title alongside ten past champions including Jerry Kelly (2002), Vijay Singh (2005), K.J. Choi (2008), Zach Johnson (2009) and Ryan Palmer (2010). 
Russell Henley (2013), 2014 and 2015 back-to-back champion Jimmy Walker, Fabian Gomez (2016), Patton Kizzire (2018) and Matt Kuchar (2019) will also be present. 
Hideki Matsuyama in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Local junior golfers will be cheering on Evan Kawai, who in his senior year at Punahou participated in and he won the 2018 Hawaii Tourism Pro-Junior Challenge with pro partner Kyle Thompson.  
"I’m just going to go out there and tell myself to have fun. At the end of the day it’s a good experience and I’m sure I’ll learn a lot," Kawai said. 
"Especially, from playing alongside the best in the world." 
Professionals such as Patrick Reed, Collin Morikawa, Hideki Matsuyama, Adam Scott, Stewart Cink, Ryo Ishikawa, Kevin Kisner and Marc Leishman are part of the 144-player field.
There have been five multiple winners of the Sony Open in Hawaii, all two-time champions: Hubert Green, Corey Pavin, Lanny Wadkins, Ernie Els, and Jimmy Walker.
Last five Sony Open in Hawaii winners
2016 - Fabian Gomez - Argentina 
2017 - Justin Thomas - USA 
2018 - Patton Kizzire - USA 
2019 - Matt Kuchar - USA
2020 - Cameron Smith - Australia 

Bet on golf with Betway

Hit the green and get that hole in one when you bet on golf with Betway. Betway brings you all the golfing action from major tournaments around the world. 

Bet anytime, anywhere with Betway
For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 01/13/2021