Springboks eye Third Test win over British & Irish Lions

Image copyright: Getty Images

2021 British & Irish Lions tour to South Africa

Third test 

South Africa v British and Irish Lions 

Cape Town Stadium 
Cape Town, South Africa
Saturday, 7 August 2021
Kick-off is at 18h00 CAT
South Africa will face off with British and Irish Lions at the Cape Town Stadium in the Third  Rugby Test of the 2021 British & Irish Lions tour to South Africa on August 7.
The Springboks claimed a 27-9 win over the Lions in the Second Test match which was played at the same venue on July 31 and tied the series at 1-1.
Handre Pollard, who is a fly-half and inside-centre, kicked with conviction and slotted five penalties and a conversion for a personal tally of 17 points. 
Siya Kolisi
 Image copyright: Getty Images

While loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff earned his 50th test cap as South Africa avenged their 22-17 defeat to the Lions in the First Test on July 24. 
The convincing win by South Africa in the Second Test means that Third Test will be the series decider with the Springboks keen to make it two wins in a row.

Lions Try Time
A win for the Springboks would seal a series win for the reigning world champions having also defeated the Lions 2-1 in the 2009 Tour.
Damian de Allende, who is a centre and a wing, will become the third Springbok in the 2021 Tour to reach the career milestone of 50 Test caps, while fly-half Morne Steyn could earn his first Test cap since 2016.
Faf De klerk
 Image copyright: Getty Images

South Africa coach Jacques Nienaber made three changes to his starting team for the clash, two of which were personnel changes and one positional switch, mainly due to injuries to the influential Pieter-Steph du Toit (flanker) and Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf).
The Springboks' experienced lock Lood de Jager lauded the Lions as a made up of world-class players and he is aware of the need to be at their best to beat them.
“We are representing the whole country out there so we need to keep ourselves accountable and drive our standards, and hopefully we can maintain that going into the final Test," De Jager said. 
“This is a final for us and the Lions. They are a team made up of world class players and we know we need to be at our best to beat them.
"As players we know we need to give 100% on the field to win this match and the series.”

Overall Series Head-to-Head

Series Played - 12
South Africa - 8
Irish Lions - 4
Draws - 0

Place your rugby bets when you want & how you want

Whether you’re a Super Rugby fan keeping an eye on the top clubs in the world, a supporter of the Six Nations or perhaps prefer a southern hemisphere standoff in the The Rugby Championship, Betway South Africa is the perfect place for you to start betting on Rugby. So log in now or register a new account to start your online rugby betting adventure with Betway.

Bet on Rugby

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Third Test Teams: 

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff. 
Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Damian Willemse. 
British & Irish Lions: 15 Liam Williams (Wales), 14 Josh Adams (Wales), 13 Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), 12 Bundee Aki (Ireland), 11 Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland), 10 Dan Biggar (Wales), 9 Ali Price (Scotland), 8 Jack Conan (Ireland), 7 Tom Curry (England), 6 Courtney Lawes (England), 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain, Wales), 4 Maro Itoje (England), 3 Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), 2 Ken Owens (Wales), 1 Wyn Jones (Wales).
Substitutes: 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (England), 17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England), 18 Kyle Sinckler (England - subject to outcome of disciplinary hearing), 19 Adam Beard (Wales), 20 Sam Simmonds (England), 21 Conor Murray (Ireland), 22 Finn Russell (Scotland), 23 Elliot Daly (England).

Published: 08/06/2021