United States chase fourth World Cup title

2019 Women’s World Cup final

United States vs Netherlands

Sunday 7 July 2019

Parc Olympique Lyonnais, Decines-Charpieu

Kick-off 17:00 

The United States will go in search of a fourth Women’s World Cup title when they take on Netherlands in the final on Sunday 7 July 2019, kick-off at 17h00.

The match at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Decines-Charpieu sees the US appear in a WWC final for the third successive time and a fifth overall.

United States forward Megan Rapinoe

The Americans were the first World Cup winners in the inaugural tournament in China back in 1991, when they defeated Norway 2-1 in the final in Guangzhou.

Their next triumph arrived on home soil in 1999, with a famous team overcoming China on penalties in the final at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

United States forward Alex Morgan

The US then had to wait until the 2011 tournament in Germany to return to the final, though for the first time they tasted disappointment in the championship match, going down on penalties at the hands of Japan after the match in Frankfurt ended 2-2.

However, United States gained revenge four years later in Canada, when the final in Vancouver saw claim a 5-2 win over Japan and become the first three-time champion of the Women’s World Cup.

You might also like: Facts about the Women’s World Cup

Women’s World Cup – Past finals

1991 – United States 2-1 Norway

1995 – Norway 2-0 Germany

1999 – United States 0-0 China – US won 5-4 on penalties

2003 – Germany 2-1 Sweden

2007 – Germany 2-0 Brazil

2011 – Japan 2-2 United States – Japan won 3-1 on penalties

2015 – United States 5-2 Japan

Sign up now and bet on international football games with Betway South Africa

betway extra bet welcome offer

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. Download the Betway App

Published: 07/05/2019