Stage set for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Image copyright: Getty Images

2020 FIA Formula One World Championship 

2020 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Yas Marina Circuit
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (UAE)
Sunday, 13 December 2020
The 2020 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will take place on December 13 in a sovereign state in Western Asia, United Arab Emirates (UAE).
This will be the 17th and final round of this year's Championship and it is set to take place at the Yas Marina Circuit.
The circuit was designed by legendary German driver Hermann Tilke and it is situated on Yas Island, about 30 minutes from the capital of the UAE, Abu Dhabi.
Yas Marina is the second Formula One track in the Middle East, with the first being in Bahrain.
Max Verstappen of Red Bull
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Last year's race was won by Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes and he was followed by Red Bull driver Max Verstappen and Ferrari's Charles Leclerc respectively.   
The most recent race in the 2020 season was the Sakhir Grand Prix which was won by Sergio Perez of Racing Point. 
Renault driver Esteban Ocon and Lance Stroll of Racing Point finished second and third respectively. 
Hamilton is sitting at the top of this year's Drivers’ Championship standings and he has been crowned 2020 Formula world champion having accumulated an unassailable lead of 332 points.
His teammate Valtteri Bottas is placed second on the Drivers' Championship standings, while Verstappen is sitting on the third spot.
Sergio Perez of Racing Point
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Econ is now placed 12fth on the Drivers' Championship standings after scoring his first-ever podium at the Sakhir Grand Prix and he has reflected on the race.
“We had good expectations about today. We knew what we were going to do with the strategy coming from outside the top 10, free choice of tyres, and that was very interesting for a race like this," Econ said.
“The graphs were showing that we were going to be coming in the top five and it was going to be a very strong comeback, and the guys on more stops were going to be struggling a bit. 
"But we never thought obviously that we were going to come this close to the win even, so it’s been an awesome race.”
Mercedes, who have been crowned 2020 Formula One world constructors champions, are placed at the top of the standings with an unassailable lead of 540 points.
They are followed by second-placed Red Bull and third-placed Racing Point, who have accumulated 282 points and 194 points heading into the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. 

2019 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix results

Winner: Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes  
Runner-Up: Max Verstappen - Red Bull
Third-Place: Charles Leclerc - Ferrari 

Bet on Mostorsport with Betway

Betting on motorsport with Betway is fast-paced and exciting. With access to a huge selection of markets and odds, it won’t be long before you are betting at 100km/h. Click HERE to register a new account, and get a R25 Free Bet which you can use to bet on Formula 1, MotoGP, NASCAR, or any other sport of your choice.

Bet on Formula One with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App


Published: 12/08/2020